Feeling grateful. 

It’s a text message on a Monday morning saying “guess what, I’m coming to Athens this weekend!!!”. It’s hugging your best friend since the sixth grade after not seeing her for over 6 weeks. It’s being jumped on by a friend downtown-screaming about how they haven’t seen you in like, forever, and kissing your cheek as they run away. It’s being adopted by your freshman year roommate’s family on KD’s parent’s weekend. It’s when your cousin, who is a state away, facetimes you while she’s getting ready, because she wants to pretend you’re there with her. It’s the little things, guys.


This school year has been a rough one for us, believe me…But it’s the people you surround yourself with that keep you going. It’s the friends who send you puppy pics to make you smile, tag you in dank meme’s to make you laugh, or stay at Walker’s till 10 p.m. with you because you just have to finish that quizlet. Freshman year, Sophomores would come up to me downtown and tell me: “I would give anything to be a freshman again”. I would think Why? Sophomore year isn’t that hard-it’s Junior and Senior year when you have to have your life together…

WRONG. Sophomore year has been a whirlwind of a year. I got into my major. I declared a minor. I applied for a certificate. All these things taking me one step closer to making it in “the real world”. Luckily enough, I came into UGA with a general idea with what I wanted to do with my life. Other arn’t so fortunate. I mean come on! We’re 18, 19, sometimes even 20 years old when we declare our major…how the hell are we supposed to know what we want to do with our lives?? It’s all about trial and error, I guess?? Apparently, Sophomore year is when you’re supposed to figure all this out, or else you fall behind. This year has been a stressful one, to say the least. But I can honestly say I’m where I am today because of the people I keep in my life.

I am beyond grateful to have such an amazing support system, and it is because the people I keep in my life are the people who motivate me to be the best possible version of myself. They are the people who inspire me to go the extra mile, because they always do. They are the people who have no problem putting me in my place when I’m being a royal bitch because they know that’s not the kind of person I want to be. 

They remind me that sometimes, it is what it is. They remind me that sometimes, it’s okay to fail, because the comeback is always greater than the setback. They remind me that  being a tiny bit kinder has never hurt anyone. They remind me to love myself, to nurture myself, and that everything takes time. 


They make me smile through my tears, dance so white it hurts (you know who you are),  and always provide a little extra sunshine, even on the cloudiest of days.

So to all the friends, family, and random drunk girls in the bathroom who compliment your outfit and make you feel like a million dollars, thank you for getting me through this semester.

Thank you for the countless miles we’ve walked down Milledge-whether to rant or talk about life or just because we haven’t seen each other in a hot minute. Thank you for  the distance we’ve covered on our long drives when we literally cannot be around other people. Thank you for supporting my strange habits, my “artistic” abilities, for letting me take up pretty much the whole closet, for all our laughs, our tears, and stories about what the hell happened last night.

For all the texts you’ve sent me reminding me its okay to not be perfect, because I’m perfect in my own way. For building my confidence. For embracing my weird fashion sense and hippie tendencies.

For sharing with me your favorite books, movies, songs. For letting me come into your life, probably like a wrecking ball (lol). For welcoming me into your homes as one of your own, sharing your traditions, superstitions, and quirks. For letting me see you at your worst, for coming to me when you need someone to talk to, for confiding your secrets in me.

For stealing clothes out of my closet (traveling semi dress anyone??)…and vice versa. For staying in with me when everyone else is going downtown. For listening to me about the diet that I promise I’ll actually stick to this time….and not judging me when I eat like 3 chocolate chip cookies at once.

Thanks for loving me unconditionally, for sharing your life with me, for being my humans. For knowing I love you with all my being, even if I don’t tell you directly…or enough.

 Take a minute out of your day to say I love you, smile at a stranger, call your mom-I promise she’ll be happy to hear from you. Take a minute to send a text asking someone how their day is going, to give them friendly reminder that you care. Take a minute to appreciate all life has to offer, all you’ve been given, and all the endless possibilities the future hold. Remember, it’s all the little things that make life so much fun. It’s the little things that make everyday an adventure. 

Thanks for getting me through life. It would be so dull without you 🙂 

Leave a Reply

