Goodwill hunting…kinda.

I miss writing. Like a lot. The problem with this is that I like to write about adventures, places I see, the things I do. But being at school has made it hard for me to top my epic summer posts. So what’s there to write about? My resolution this year was to do more of what made me happy, and since writing makes me happy, I wanted to do more of it. Writing = more adventures and more adventures = happy Madison. I see a win-win right??

As cool as Athens is-and believe me, it’s pretty awesome-it gets boring being in the same place week after week. And I know we all can’t be blessed with millions of dollars, no responsibilities, and the ability to travel the world, but c’mon. I find myself getting restless doing the same thing every weekend, so when Taylor offered up a road trip to her favorite thrift store in Augusta, I jumped at the opportunity to go somewhere new. AND THUS A NEW BLOG POST WAS BORN!!!


Let’s just say Final Cut is like Goodwill….on steroids. It’s as if Urban Outfitters and FreePeople had a love child. As soon as you walk in, it’s like an overwhelming holy-shit-do-I-really-want-to-get-into-this feeling. Then you start browsing the aisles and there’s this allure of digging through the boxes, not knowing what you’re going to discover next. After mining through boxes all day (literally we were there for 6 hours), we struck gold. $ 100 dollars later and I am a proud mama of one sweater, one pair of flare jeans, 4 t-shirts, a silk body suit, a bralette, and two dresses-all FreePeople of course. There is something so satisfying about getting a good deal.


Not only does this store practically give away designer clothing, it’s also a furniture store! As soon as you walk in, there’s a plethora of plush couches, cuddled up together in neat little rows. Mismatched barstools were practically begging you to take them home to brighten up your kitchen. There were mountains of fuzzy rugs, their patterns a demanding your attention. We’re already planning a summer trip to furnish our house for the fall-stay tuned, we’re expecting šŸ˜‰ (@jules, @taylor, @lis).


There’s something about driving down a backroad, singing along to Cage the Elephant at the top of your lungs with one of your best friends that can make you forget the world for a little. Rural Georgia blurring by, wind whipping my hair, and Taylor’s off pitching singing kept me smiling for the rest of the evening. It’s the little things, guys. I mean if you really think about it, it’s not that hard to find yourself a little adventure. We literally drove a hour and a half and spent the day digging through boxes of samples and forgotten fashions and yet it was the most fun I’ve had in a while.


I’m going to end with a friendly reminder that anything can be an adventure. Enjoy the simple pleasures life has to offer, because if we spend our lifetime always waiting for the next best thing, we forget to appreciate what we have. There’s always going to be the idea that there’s something better and that’s what takes away the happiness from NOW. This is my friendly reminder that there’s always time to dig through boxes, peruse through racks, and wander the aisles because finding time to just stop and BE is so difficult, yet so important! Marcus Aurelius once said, “very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking”. I translate this to “anything can be an adventure if you make it an adventure”.

I challenge everyone to follow me this year to do more of what makes you happy. There’s no point in spending another day miserable and wishing for change. Go out, do good, and be who you want to be. Any day above ground is a good day-so why are we not making the most of each day?? We’re living like tomorrow is guaranteed, and although the chances are probable that we’ll see the sunrise, ya never know! This year, let’s try to make the most of each day. Let’s try to make everyday an adventure šŸ™‚

 

One thought on “Goodwill hunting…kinda.

Leave a Reply

