The Grit!

…I don’t even know where to start. Located next to Hendershots on Prince Ave, The Grit is a eccentric little restaurant packed full of flavor and stacked with sweet. Upon entering, Emma and I were greeted by a willowy waitress who lead us to an outdoor table with a view of the sunset. With an emphasis on vegetarian and vegan cuisine, The Grit is entirely meat free-which may discourage people from trying it. But what this place lacks in the meats, it makes up for in insane flavor combinations, fresh ingredients, and bountiful portions. Emma and I reviewed the menu, which was packed full with noodle bowls, grilled cheeses, tofu based dishes, and fresh veggies, and settled for splitting the Mid-E plate as an app. I got the Toby Bowl and Emma got the Grain Bowl.

IMG_7309.JPG

All I can say is….damn… The Mid-E platter came out first. A generous portion of homemade hummus was surrounded by veggies, warm pita bread, tabouli salad, and probably the best falafels I’ve ever had. Seriously, these falafels deserve their own fan page..I know what I’m ordering next time. Fried balls of seasoned chickpea goodness graced my tastebuds..I was disappointed they only gave us two. The past few weeks, I’ve been pushing myself to try new things, and that’s why I didn’t hold back when ordering the Toby bowl. Arugula, almonds, broccoli, barley, carrots and kale all tossed in a coconut curry sauce and garnished with avocado-this bowl was full of flavor and spices and left a bit of a kick afterwards. It had me shoveling, yes shoveling, forkfuls into my mouth. I made our willowy waitress bring me a to-go box so I could continue enjoying this delight at home…and more importantly to make sure I had room for dessert.

Ah, the star of yesterday’s meal…DESSERT. When you initially walk in, there is a display case packed full of the day’s cakes, cupcakes, pies, scones, and probably every other sweet you can imagine. With flavors like Elvis Pie, Amaretto Cocktail Cake, and Mocha Creme Cake, there’s something for everyone. But the special written on the chalkboard was what caught Emma and I’s eye. 4 word: Pumpkin Spice Bread Pudding. I honestly think God concocted this dessert so us mere mortals could have a taste of heave. Warm pumpkin bread pudding swirled with cinnamon and topped with a caramel crunch was topped with pumpkin ice cream and spiced pecans. The result was an ooey gooey mess that had us dividing and conquering with the little dessert spoons they gave us. A shovel would’ve been more applicable to this situation. Seriously, I don’t know what genius came up with this, but he or she deserves a prize. The ice cream churned in house with local ingredients had us begging for more, and scraping the remaining bits off the plate-despite our protesting stomachs.

All and all, I give The Grit 5 stars. 10/10 would recommend. Wow. Just wow. Another one crossed off the list!

49823268761__2471AD29-0D60-40CC-A4D5-5DB87C0814AA.JPG

Leave a Reply

